Working Weekend

I spent the last couple of days cleaning some the wood floors. I will just have to say that if I had realised just how gross they really were I would have cleaned them before now! Funny how they just didn't seem quite as bad as they were.

After moving furniture and sweeping them very well, I started with a bucket of hot water and floor cleaner. Yes I know that you are not supposed to wet mop hard wood floors, but I am so glad that I did. The mop water was disgusting. I don't think that the floors had been cleaned in years. After mopping just one room, the water looked like a mud puddle. After the floor dried from the mopping, I moved onto a hardwood floor cleaner. That removed even more grime. Then I moved onto a re-finisher.

Those floors look and feel so much better now. They are bright and reflect light. It was a lot of work, but so well worth it. I also cleaned the wood door frames. I am absurdly pleased with the results of my weekend labors. It is so gratifing to see the all that beautiful wood gleaming!

Leave a comment