For your amusement, a poem

I wrote this years ago, when my now grown son was just a baby……….

I caught a glimpse of my table tonight,

dimly lit by the stove hood light

littered with donations from my family

a gift of a mess for all to see

babys’ shoes and a kleenex box

a little boys treasures, unmatched socks

chessmen piled in disarray

what a valiant battle they fought today

backgammon game neatly boxed up

a few scattered dribbles from a coffee cup

a ring of keys, babys’ plastic kind

a misplaced bill I had to find

condiments sitting on a wooden rack

a tired and mauled empty cigarette pack

I shake my head and remember when

about an hour ago it must have been

I cleared the table of life’s debris

and now it looks like world war three.

4 thoughts on “For your amusement, a poem

Leave a comment